VB Q/F Round **BLOG**



OUTLAWS EDITION

www.Outsideoff.com

Lottery Tickets at the ready?



Is it any wonder cricket fans struggle to keep up. The T20 comp has only been running since 2003 in that time 2020 will be the 6th change of format. It started life with 3 groups and no quarter finals, reverted to 2 groups in 2010 and back to 3 groups in 2012 for 2 seasons before reverting back 2 groups 2 season later. Foxes have made finals day on 5 occasions winning 3. The last time they reached the quarter final stage in 2017 they lost to Glamorgan in Cardiff by 9 wickets

As was always likely when the schedules were arranged for this truncated season a quarter final and finals day in early October will undoubtedly see the weather having a say.

The 6.00pm start at Trent Bridge for TV sees most of the game being played under lights and if the forecast storms arrive this weekend the finals day could be facing a wash out.

The short form of the game can be a lottery in these conditions and who knows what will happen. Frankly who cares, we are in it and with as much chance as any of the other 7 teams Entering the final round of matches the permutations for Foxes progression were more complex than an 'A' level algorithm. Durham needed to lose to Notts, Gloucs needed to beat Somerset & Bears beat Northants. Needless to say the Foxes needed victory at Old Trafford & at 110-2 when Ackers started the 15th over the other results did not seem to matter. However as we have seen before the skipper is nothing but tenacious and if 3 wkts in the over followed by the wkt of Vilas in the 16th laid the ground for an unlikely victory nobody predicted that the Northants victory actually would see Bears miss out on inferior run rate.

All of which resulted in a trip to our old 'friends' Notts Outlaws to enjoy another tussle for a place in finals day





Outlaws Edition



Foxes v Notts Outlaws

T20 Stats

Matches 1st Played in 2003

Total 35 Leicestershire Won 15 Lost 13 Tied 0 Abandoned 7

Highest total by Leicestershire			
205 – 2	J.Allenby 110	Grace Road	2009
Highest total by Notts Outlaws			
220 – 4	M.Wessels 66 S.Patel 63	Grace Road	2014
Lowest Total by Leicestershire			
90 a/o	B.Raine 20 M.Boyce 20	Trent Bridge	2014
Lowest Total by Notts Outlaws			
110 a/o	C.Dagnall 4-22	Grace Road	2004
Highest individual score for Leicestershire			
110	J.Allenby (58 Balls)	Grace Road	2009
Highest individual score for Notts Outlaws			
73	D.Christian (32 Balls)	Trent Bridge	2017
	D.Hussey (37 Balls)	Trent Bridge	2011
Best Bowling in innings for Leicestershire			
4-16	N.Malik (Econ Rate 4.0)	Grace Road	2008
Best bowling innings for Notts Outlaws			
4-19	S.Mullaney (Econ Rate 4.75)	Grace Road	2012
Highest Partnerships for Leicestershire			
1 st Wkt - 79	M.Boyce & J.Allenby	Grace Road	2009
2 nd Wkt – 133	D.Maddy & J.Allenby	Trent Bridge	2006
3 rd Wkt – 121	B.Hodge & J.Taylor	Grace Road	2010
4 th Wkt – 99	C.Delport & E.Eckersley	Trent Bridge	2017
5 th Wkt – 99*	Umar Akmal & M.Boyce	Trent Bridge	2015
6 th Wkt – 66	J.Snape & J.Sadler	Trent Bridge	2006
7 th Wkt – 39	M.Nabi & T.Wells	Grace Road	2018
8 th Wkt – 34	E.Eckersley & R.Taylor	Trent Bridge	2013
9 th Wkt – 16	B.Raine & C.Shrek	Trent Bridge	2014
10 th Wkt – 27	B.Raine & A.Sheikh	Trent Bridge	2014

The Foxes are rightly proud of being the most successful Club in domestic T20 Cricket having won the trophy on 3 occasions. Having made finals day 5 times they have actually only played 2 quarter finals in 2011 when they beat Kent at the FCG and the last time in 2017 when they lost in Cardiff to Glamorgan.

2 sides, Northants & Hampshire have won it twice and 10 other counties once. Gloucestershire are the only side never to have made a Finals day, whilst Lancs Lightning are the least successful having appeared at 7 finals days and only won the trophy once.

There are only 3 Foxes in the current squad that remain from the last Q/F appearance in Cardiff, skipper Colin Ackermann, Callum Parkinson & Gavin Griffiths.